Military Science (MS) (ARMY ROTC)

Professor: LTC Mike Wroblewski (Chair)

The Department of Military Science is also known as the Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC) department. Military science basic courses at the 100 and 200 levels are open to all students as electives. Credits toward a baccalaureate degree are awarded for all military science courses.

The department was established in April 1950 at the request of John Carroll University and with the approval of the U.S. Department of the Army. This department is both an academic entity of the University and an Instructor Group of the U.S. Army. It is staffed by the Army with the approval of the University president. The instructors are professional Army Commissioned and Non-Commissioned officers whose academic backgrounds meet University standards.

The goal of the department is to help prepare young men and women for service as Army officers—the future leadership of the Army. Through its courses, the department develops leadership and management skill in the cadets so they may be successful leaders in the U.S. Army. The department also provides instruction to the student body in general on the role of the military in America, focusing on military skills, leadership, adventure training, and the role of the military in our society.